Friday, 20 May 2016

The Girl Who Lied - Sue Fortin - Romantic mystery



My Review

A lovely romance with loads of mystery and psychological twists and turns, dominated by secrets and relationships.

Erin is the girl who lied - her emotional story is dominated by secrets and deception. Proving you should never try to conceal things - untruths always come back to haunt you.

Born and brought up in a small town in Ireland, a tragic event when she is a teenager causes Erin to leave Ireland for the bright lights of London where despite the anonymity of a big city she retains family ties by staying with her big Sister Fiona until she settles in. She’s now built a new life there, with a job as a beautician, a long term boyfriend a flat and she maintains a welcome distance from the stifling close knit place she was brought up where her parents still live, running a little cafĂ© by the sea.

But her old school friend Roisin is about to shatter her equilibrium, she’s discovered Erin’s been hiding things and threatens to blow Erin’s carefully constructed world apart by revealing what she knows. Then everything begins to go wrong!

Erin’s called back to the family fold, her estranged father has had a mysterious accident, her mother is struggling and Erin can’t refuse to go back and help, even though she’s managed to keep her distance for almost 10 years.

Despite being in a relationship, although not a very fulfilling one, with Ed, who also happens to be her boss (she’s really put all her eggs in one basket has Erin) She feels an almost instant attraction to the local biker and garage worker Kerry but is he a bad lad or not? His best mate and work colleague Jo was the bane of Erin’s life at school making up cruel nicknames which have haunted her ever since, but he’s a Dad now and his wife Bex seems pretty friendly and genuine. Poor Erin she doesn’t know who she can trust, is blood thicker than water?

An emotional family drama unfolds, lots of mysteries and hidden secrets to be uncovered and above all a real heart-warming up and down romance – will they won’t they? And if they do can it last? What if Erin’s biggest secret comes out? It will have repercussions on far more lives than just hers.

Extremely well written and imaginative, with gently flawed characters and many mysteries and lots of little twists, it leans more towards a romance than a thriller, more about families and relationships and emotions than nastiness. The characters are easy to warm to and the storyline is magnetic and enthralling. A wonderful warm and emotional romantic read with touches of darkness and lots of mystery to while away your holiday with.

This is a book I received free of charge for review purposes.

You can purchase your very own copy now for your kindle, at the time of writing it's on offer at just 99p. The paperback is due out in July and can be pre-ordered.

The Blurb

The truth hurts…

Erin and Roisin were once friends until a fatal accident ruined both their lives. Now, Roisin has discovered a secret—one Erin has kept for over a decade—and she’s determined to make Erin pay for her lies.

Erin wants nothing to do with Roisin. She has a new life in London and no intention of going back home. Yet when her father is mysteriously and critically injured, Erin has no choice but to return and face Roisin—and her past. Erin knows if the secret of what she gave up got out, the consequences could be devastating.

When Roisin suddenly disappears, suspicion soon lands on Erin. She would do anything to protect her family, but just how far is she willing to go when time is running out…?

A must read for fans of CL Taylor and BA Paris.

2 comments:

  1. Thank you, Jan for such a thoughtful review and your kind comments. I always love to find out how readers react to the stories and I do agree with you that it is a romance with touches of darkness. It's a great review, thank you!
    Sue
    x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So nice of you to read and comment on my review. Hope your book Wows lots of readers as much as it did me.

      Delete

Liked a review? Please add a comment I love to hear from readers.